Necator Americanus & Trichuris Trichiura

So I’ve got 55 hookworms now, Necator Americanus to be exact, and 500 Trichuris Trichiura whipworms. Together, they brought about a growing and intense well being, starting a day or so after I was inoculated. I could breathe through my nose, fully, for the first time in many years. I could smell the chill in the morning spring air as I made my way outside, amidst a torrent of tree-fluff allergens that would have had me gagging with asthma, and running for HEPA-filtered air, just days earlier.

Shortly thereafter, the skin on this 40-something’s face was becoming soft and smooth, not rough and inflamed, as it has been for so long. What a time machine. I ran my fingers through my hair, which even felt a bit softer, too, and noticed the seborrheic dermatitis was easing. The scaly patches that had dogged me since my late teens were giving way to a normal scalp, the redness around my mouth and nose was becoming clear and… normal. Never before has “normal” been such a wonderful word.

I tried wheat, and sugar, even beer, and tolerated all of it. Merely days ago this forbidden menu might have sent me to the ER with a flare of ulcerative colitis. Yes, it can be dangerous to throw caution to the wind, and make such drastic changes, so I soon backed off the accelerator, and stuck with my low carb diet. But it was an incredible triumph to have a bread pudding… and live to type about it.

This “bounce” lasted for five glorious days. Then, as quickly as it came, it went. Such euphoria is a normal reaction to helminthic therapy, as I’ve come to understand, for a small and lucky subset. Some who do “HT” never bounce at all, so in this sense I felt doubly fortunate: first, to be successfully hosting them, and second, to have had such a strong initial response as they entered my bloodstream.

Inoculation day was April 25, 2011. I took two hookworm doses over two days — 35, and then 20 more. About 15 minutes after application, a “ground itch” developed at their entry site on my arm, which was quite mild. I also drank a tiny vial of 500 Trichuris Trichiura human whipworm ova on day one, which were suspended in saline solution. Apart from the concept, their entrance was utterly uneventful. *Gulp* Bon appetit.

 

 

If you enjoy this blog, you can support my work by buying things you need via this amazon portal HERE, or by purchasing any product linked in articles. It costs you nothing extra, and helps me continue writing. Thanks!

5 thoughts on “Necator Americanus & Trichuris Trichiura

  1. My mom has been using hookworm to treat her crohn’s disease for going on 8-9 months now, she’s just turned fifty-one and is now in remission. The difference in her face and skin is incredible! She used to have paper thin, scaly dry, grey skin. Now she is glowing. Her skin has thickened, its smoother, even her facial lines are less notable. I’m delighted to hear she is not alone with these benefits. I’m glad this is helping you so much already!

    Like

  2. hi, natale — thanks very much for stopping by! this is such great news about your mom’s improvements since starting HT. hooray, worms!

    i’ve been enjoying keeping up with your blog, and following your own story. i’m hoping to hear you saying similar things about your own radiant health, and soon! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Hookworm Update – Last Inoculation 6/23/14 | Getting Healthier Now

  4. Pingback: Happy with Hookworm — Three Years and Counting | Getting Healthier Now

  5. Pingback: Fecal Transplant, The Return of Joy | Getting Healthier Now

Leave a Reply

