3 weeks in…

So it’s now been 21 days since I inoculated with 75 hookworm. I’ve had an upper respiratory flu that morphed into a sinus and middle ear infection. The goal was to avoid antibiotics (I cannot tolerate them), especially because they have contributed to so many of my health issues. Another course of them now could be very damaging and my primary care doctor realizes this. It took weeks, and quite a few home remedies, such as colloidal silver and xylitol neti pot rinses, a few hot showers a day, hot peppermint tea (I can now tolerate salicylates again, much to my amazement!), hot packs on the sinuses and ears, plenty of bed rest and lots of fluids, plus vitamin C. A month or so later, I’m finally starting to turn the corner.

Ironically, the most annoying remnant of this illness is the acne just inside my ear canal, brought on by a high carb elemental diet, the only food I can tolerate currently. “Vivonex”, as it’s called, keeps me going, but the side effects for me seem to be an increase in SIBO related co-infections like acne and rosacea. If I add some veggies throughout the day I get formed stools and less translocating bacteria, probably because the tight junctions in my small intestines are less likely to be breached, simply because my bowel transport is more efficient with the added fiber.

As far as the hookworm are concerned, I’d like to think I’ve got a bunch in me now, but so far the signs have been minimal. It’s impossible to separate the side effects from the flu, although I do think some of my loose stools are worm-related. Time will tell. As far as the timeline of events goes, and accruing benefits, I’m sort of in a middle zone where I may have few indications of the worms truly “moving in” until they start laying eggs, around 7 or 8 weeks at the earliest.

Fingers crossed they are alive and well, and that they can stick around this time!

One thought on “3 weeks in…

  1. you’ve had an upper respiratory flu that morphed into a sinus and middle ear infection. The goal was to avoid antibiotics, especially because they have contributed to so many of my health issues. hmm…why you didnt try natural remedy ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

