Kefir and Diabetes: Some Anecdotal Evidence

Readers of GHN will appreciate another interesting blog post (see below my entry) about kefir, gut flora, and metabolic issues. Taking a look on Pubmed’s site, I’m reading more and more studies suggesting kefir can make a difference

Kefir can be found in most grocery stores. It’s also extremely cheap and easy to make your own kefir at home, in a jar on the kitchen counter, in 12 hours or so. Some people buy their “grains” online, others share them in groups. All you need is a mason jar and a plastic strainer, to separate the grains from the kefir before every batch is ready to drink. The beauty of it is the grains just keep getting larger as you make more ferments, so you can share them with friends, or eat them on their own for a probiotic superfood.

If you’re interested in learning more about the connection between GI health and glucose control, here’s a new group on Facebook. Just keep in mind if you’re diabetic, it’s important to speak to your doctor before making any adjustments to your treatment plan. Chances are they’ll suggest paying closer attention to readings during any dietary changes.

Now, here’s the article that caught my attention, reblogged from another WordPress site. Enjoy!

 

Bio-Sil South Africa

Kefir and diabetes

      • Kefir
      • Kombucha

Kefir

Captain of your ship and the master of your destiny.
Shaped by the light we let through us
.

I remember that day quite vividly. It was over ten years ago. It was February and bitter cold outside. I made myself  a breakfast that I thought was healthy. Fiber One cereal and skim milk. Thirty minutes later a terrible feeling came over me, one that I recognized from having gestational diabetes with the pregnancy of my daughter. I had a blood sugar meter that I could test my blood sugar with, and when I saw the numbers my heart sank. I picked up the phone to call my brother-in-law, who was a medical physician. He very gently and kindly confirmed for me what I already knew. My blood sugar was too high and out of the normal range. These were diabetic numbers, but I already knew this…

View original post 1,263 more words

Leave a Reply

