Heal Insomnia with Orange Lighting

Many of us who have damaged gut flora from antibiotics suffer from insomnia. I’ve had better sleep quality, where I became drowsy at appropriate times and had deep and restful sleep, after doing an antifungal protocol. Eating a lower carb diet, with plenty of cultured vegetables and homemade kefir, is also a big help. I’ve noticed both helminthic therapy, and FMT improved my sleep immediately. Indeed, adverse reactions to antibiotics can be so severe, we will take drastic measures to recapture elusive sleep.

However this article is about a very simple and effective protocol for healing insomnia, via a fascinating mechanism: manipulating the color temperature of all light seen after sundown into the orange/red spectrum. It turns out blue light, which we modern humans bathe ourselves in after dark, via computer and television screens, artificial lighting, and even traffic lights, stops production of melatonin, the sleep hormone.

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 1.31.31 PM

This may be one reason shift workers have a higher incidence of heart disease, depression, diabetes and other health problems. There’s also evidence of reduced melatonin contributing to cancer.

I tried using orange goggles after dark, and the effect was virtually immediate. Eventually, I realized it was easier to download an app for my laptop called f.lux, which warms up the color temperature of the monitor during evening hours, and I added orange compact fluorescent bulbs to my bedroom. I’ve noticed now that even if my gut health is not optimal, I still have much better sleep quality than I did before implementing these measures.

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 1.35.55 PM

Himalayan Salt Lamps are another interesting approach because in addition to an orange glow, they are purported to emit negative ions, and act as air purifiers. I haven’t tried one yet, but some users report relief from allergies and a pleasant smell when lit. Clearly, folks are enthusiastic about their salt lamps, as this one has a 5-star rating and nearly 2,500 reviews.

himalayan_salt_lamp.

I’m also experimenting lately with turning off my wifi at night. Some people go so far as to disable the main breakers to their house (tough to do with a refrigerator) and swear this makes an even bigger difference. For anyone who has been in the wilderness, and slept out under the stars, away from artificial light, you probably noticed your body responding favorably. Since many of us can’t take this step, perhaps the changes outlined above will be the next best thing.

What strategies are you using to unplug from technology, and how has it impacted your own sleep patterns or general healing? I’d love to hear from you in the comments section. 🙂

If you enjoy this blog, you can support my work by buying things you need via this amazon portal HERE, or by purchasing any product linked in articles. It costs you nothing extra, and helps me continue writing. Thanks!

16 thoughts on “Heal Insomnia with Orange Lighting

  1. I cant fall asleep without taking melatonin supplements every night. But I’ve never heard of orange lighting, that’s interesting. Although, my pineal gland is calcified… I found out in xrays from chiropractor. And it regulates melatonin production.

    Like

    • hello, bryt – i’ve never heard of a calcified pineal gland before. did your chiro explain how that happens, or what can be done about it? i used to take melatonin also but have found my body produces plenty of it when i block blue light at night. 🙂 it’s also helpful for me to get 20 minutes of noon day sun per day, and i do my best to go right to bed as soon as i’m drowsy. if i push past that i am sometimes waiting for my next sleep cycle to hit. keep us posted if/when you try the orange approach!

      Like

      • They say the pineal gland calcifies from exposure to fluoride. There is a lot of compelling reading on this subject especially for anyone who has ever take Prozac/fluoxetine. If I recall correctly Terry, you had some problems with a fluoroquinolone?

        Good post, BTW. I think I might get some of those bulbs but I really don’t want to use the mercury CFL bulbs. I like to light candles in the evenings sometimes. I use f.lux after hearing Chris Kresser’s presentation at the Healthy Life Summit from Village Green in the Spring of 2013. We haven’t been disconnecting the circuit breakers at night because of the inconvenience factor but I do unplug the wifi and it does make a difference. We also got rid of our cordless phone. They say the DECT technology is especially bad for emf.

        I wish I could shield the cell tower signals and my neighborhood wifi and the smart meters. A lot of people are building their own Faraday cages to shield at night. You can search for nearby cell towers and antenna on this website. We have so many more than we did when I bought this house five years ago. It is very frustrating. http://www.antennasearch.com/

        I listened to a lecture by Dr. Dietrich Klinghardt where he talked about the activity of parasites when exposed to emf. He said they are threatened by it and emit toxins in response. I am pretty sure this is the talk. http://youtu.be/-z3kRDYcvhA

        Like

      • Hi, Linda — thank you for an incredibly good post. 🙂 i agree the CFL’s are not optimal, but they are inexpensive, and that makes a difference. Just today, someone on Facebook mentioned “Himalayan Salt Lamps”, so I did some research and added them to the article. They appear to be incandescent light, very orange, and are… pretty affordable, too.

        This all makes perfect sense, viewed from an ancestral perspective. Humans evolved with firelight at night, not smartphones, TVs or computer screens. Early in the industrial revolution, it was noted city dwellers had a lot more health problems than their rural counterparts. Some of this is probably dietary, or due to overcrowding (sanitation issues, perhaps), but I do think a lot of it may be related to light and noise pollution. Sleep is so healing, and we now get less of it than ever before.

        Thanks also for the info on calcified pineal glands. I’ve got some reading to do.

        Like

      • Terry, I am listening to this talk now http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2012/02/05/dr-dietrich-klinghardt-on-lyme-disease.aspx around forty minutes in he starts talking about mold in the home and labs you can do to see how much exposure you are getting. 43 minutes in he also talks about emf and how it affects mold. cordless phones, alarm systems, cell phones, wifi, baby monitors, etc. He talks about using silver fabric for curtains to shield.

        He is also recommending the work of Dr. Shoemaker. http://www.survivingmold.com/ and this test https://www.emlab.com/s/services/ERMI_testing.html

        I wonder about those infrared space heaters. Do you think they might be able to eliminate the moisture inside the home so that mold cannot grow?

        I have been looking at those salt lamps but haven’t purchased one. They have candle holders that are even more affordable. I wonder if those would work as well? What do you think. I could buy more of those since they are 2 for ten dollars.

        Like

      • hi, Linda – this is all quite new to me, so all i can really do is reply anecdotally, and i really DO notice a major shift in my health, my problems with fungal overgrowth, as the ambient temperatures drop and the humidity rises, right around the shift from fall into winter. this is typically when i have the most trouble with ulcerative colitis, and given the fungal hypothesis for UC, that’s interesting, indeed.

        re: emf and mold, i haven’t seen the science in any detail, so i can only give a cursory response. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?term=emf+radiation+mold it looks like in some cases EMF exposure may induce aptosis in yeast cells, which is supporting the opposite argument. then again, it’s easy to dismiss what we can’t see, and i have no doubt the electrosmog we’re subjected to daily must have ill effects on health, and perhaps in ways that are more profound than we realize. it’s certainly worthy of more study, and i appreciate your comments! as for the salt lamps, as i said in my article i don’t have first-hand experience with them, but i do find it stunning how many people are enthusiastic users. i’ve ordered one and will test drive it. am hoping others can do the same, and we’ll compare notes. 🙂

        Like

  2. Pingback: Heal Insomnia with Orange Lighting | Wordy Rappinghood

  3. Terry, you had mentioned an essential oil in combo with a carrier for acne. I can’t find that blog, and my son’s back is on fire from a prednisone uc treatment. I don’t think he’ll let me near his back, but I’d like to offer the relief. At least help with one misery!
    Lynn

    Like

  4. Pingback: Day 15 – Glorious sleep. | Getting Healthier Now

  5. I just found out that the fl.ux app is only available for Mac/Linux (and of course iPhone and iPad). I have wanted a Mac for a long time; this is one of many reasons why. The windows edition is always up about a year after the laptop versions of apps. ;(

    Like

  6. hi terry,
    I too am hosting helminths for inflammatory bowel disease. I have been reading on your site about your use of iodine. How wonderful that you are experiencing some positive results. I was inspired by your story so I bought some iodine also. However, I purchased some iodine called J. Crow’s Lugol’s SOlution 2%. Five drops equal 12.5 mg. of iodine. At the same time I did some research on Niacinamide and have been taking two grams per day (500 mg. 4 x day). I have done both for about 3 days. The only adverse symptom that I seem to be experiencing is severe insomnia for the past two nights. I haven’t experiencing anything like this a quite a while. I was wondering if I am taking too much iodine? Or, if J. Crow’s iodine is the wrong kind. Also–perhaps it is the Niacinamide even though I have read that Niacinamide is suppose to help with insomnia. I was wondering if you have any thoughts that you would be willing to share with me. I would be very grateful. Thank you so much.

    Like

    • hi, it’s good to hear from a fellow helmith host. 🙂

      the iodine you mentioned is the same i’ve been using. i take magnesium, selenium (100 mcg daily) b vitamins and vitamin c along with the iodine. i also take fish oil and 6 mg boron now.

      http://ghn.thegraychannel.com/ghn-user-groups/iodine-for-antibiotics-detox/forum/topic/terrys-protocol/

      it’s not clear to me from your post how much iodine you’re taking, but i would strongly suggest you avoid the 12.5 mg dose suggested by dr. brownstein and others who have developed “iodine protocols”.

      for anyone sick with fluoride toxicity from antibiotics like cipro or levaquin, or just those of us who are already battling serious chronic infections (candida, etc) i think our detox pathways are compromised and 12.5 mg is not safe at all as a starting dose.

      i also urge you to work with a dr on this. iodine can be really healing (as i found out) but it’s also capable of creating more thyroid issues. insomnia is not uncommon, but some people get pushed in a hyperthyroid direction from iodine, and this needs to be monitored.

      whatever you do, go low and slow. you could dilute one drop of lugol’s 2% (2.5 mg iodine) and take a fraction of it, so don’t let the “drop” size affect how you measure a dose. learn the difference between mcg and mg, and consider how much larger one drop of lugol’s is than the US RDA of 150 mcg.

      i’ve started an iodine group on facebook, and a companion group (for those who want a more structured bulletin board style forum) and you’re welcome to join us. links are below. 🙂

      https://www.facebook.com/groups/358876060941295/

      http://ghn.thegraychannel.com/ghn-user-groups/iodine-for-antibiotics-detox/forum/

      Like

      • Hi Terry,
        Thank you so much for responding to my inquiry. I often follow your posts on bacteriotherapy. You are very knowledgeable and I feel so honored that you have taken the time to respond to my questions. Regarding the iodine, I was taking five drops of the 2% iodine. Perhaps that is why I developed insomnia? I am going to reduce it to one drop and see what happens. I have been hosting both whipworm and hookworm for two years now. However, in January of 2013 I went to the dentist and my dentist gave me nitrous oxide which I am sure destroyed my year old colony. For the past year, I have been very careful not to do anything to compromise my little buddies. I have Ankylosing Spondylitis with associated inflammatory bowel disease. Sometimes my gastro doc calls it IBD and sometimes Crohns. Either way I have been through hell with these conditions and will try anything, absolutely anything to experience some relief. I am experiencing some mini remissions which usually last for about 7 to 10 days but the Crohns always returns with a vengeance. Most of my days are spend managing my symptoms. I am so grateful for people like you who give so generously of their time and knowledge. Thank you.

        Like

      • yes, 5 drops of lugol’s is a “starting dose” according to some iodine protocol’s but i think it’s way too high for most of us. figure if you have IBD, as we both do, there’s an associated risk of hypothyroid in there. it’s also possible to flip back and forth from hypo to hyper during iodine supplementation, so lowering your dose is a great idea. also make sure you have all the co-supplements, like selenium, mag, b and c, and also fish oil, because your thyroid benefits from anti-inflammatories.

        sorry to hear about your worms, but they can be replaced. speaking of, i am not hosting hookworm now, and with iodine am not experiencing any allergies. i feel like healing my thyroid, and removing toxins like fluoride may really help a dysregulated immune system.

        adding in new worms later, once i have candida under control, may be on the agenda. we’ll see.

        thanks for your kind words, and here’s to our (improving) health in the new year. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

